National Thermal and Nuclear Power Plants

India is a land of aesthetic power plants. A power plant is basically a power generation and distribution station. Most power plants use one or more generators that convert mechanical energy into electrical energy. There are three types of power plants in India:-

  1. Hydro Electric power plants
  2. Thermal power plants
  3. Nuclear Power plants.

Apsara research reactor at Mumbai was India’s and Asia’s first nuclear reactor. India is dependent on uranium imports from other countries to provide fuel to its nuclear power industry as the domestic uranium reserve in India is small. Russia has been a major supplier of nuclear fuel to India since 1990s.

Currently, India has five electricity grids; Eastern, Western, Northern, Southern and North-Eastern. There are 7 more reactors are under construction with a combined generation capacity of 4,300 MW. Kudankulam reactor has the highest capacity of 2000 MW in India.


Thermal Power Plants in India:

The largest source of power in India is Thermal power. Different types of Thermal power plants use different type of fuel to generate the steam such as coal, gas, and Diesel. About 65% of electricity consumed in India are generated by thermal power plants. Usually all power plants are situated near the rivers as they mainly require large amount of water as coolant.

List of Thermal Power plants in India:

Name of PlantState
Singrauli Thermal Power plantMadhya Pradesh
Ramagundam Thermal Power plantAndhra Pradesh
Dadri Thermal Power plantUttar Pradesh
Talcher Thermal Power plantOdisha
Korba Thermal Power plantChhattisgarh
Vindyachal Thermal Power plantMadhya Pradesh
Farakka Thermal Power plantWest Bengal
Mudra Thermal Power plantGujarat
Sipat Thermal Power plantChhattisgarh
Rihand Thermal Power plantUttar Pradesh
Jharsuguda Thermal Power plantOdisha
Tiroda Thermal Power plantMaharashtra
Anpara Thermal Power plantUttar Pradesh
Barauni Thermal Power plantBihar
Bellary Thermal Power plantKarnataka
Durgapur Thermal Power plantWest Bengal
Sikka Thermal Power plantGujarat
Satpura Thermal Power plantMadhya Pradesh
Wanakbori Thermal Power plantGujarat
Obra Thermal Power plantUttar Pradesh
Udupi Thermal Power plantKarnataka
Simhadri Thermal Power plantAndhra Pradesh
Chhabra Thermal Power plantRajasthan
Bokaro Thermal Power plantJharkhand
Sanjay Gandhi Thermal Power plantMadhya Pradesh
Chandrapur Thermal Power plantMaharashtra
Bhilai Thermal Power plantChhattisgarh
Mettur Thermal Power plantTamil Nadu
Patratu Thermal Power plantJharkhand
Rosa Thermal Power plantUttar Pradesh
Sant Singaji Thermal Power plantMadhya Pradesh
Ukai Thermal Power plantGujarat
Khaperkheda Thermal Power plantMaharashtra
Gandhinagar Thermal Power plantGujarat
Amarkantak Thermal Power plantMadhya Pradesh
Amravati Thermal Power plantMaharashtra
Ennore Thermal Power plantTamil Nadu
Feroz Gandhi Unchahar Thermal Power plantUttar Pradesh
National Capital Thermal Power plantUttar Pradesh
Hirakund Captive Thermal Power plantOdisha
Kota Thermal Power plantKota, Rajasthan
Kalisindh Thermal Power plantJhalawar, Rajasthan

Nuclear Power Plants in India:

After thermal, hydroelectric and renewable sources of energy Nuclear Power is the fourth largest sources of energy. Currently, India has 22 nuclear reactors in 7 Nuclear Power plants. Some Nuclear Power plants are under construction and some are planned projects which will be implemented in future.

Nuclear Power Plants requires relatively small area and produces a large amount of electricity. They contribute to national energy security and ensure steady electricity supply nationwide. Nuclear power plants are designed to operate continuously for long period of time. They can run about 540 days before they are shut down for refuelling.

List of Nuclear Power plants in India:

Name of PlantState
Narora Nuclear Power plantUttar Pradesh
Rawatbhatta Nuclear Power plantRajasthan
Kakarpar Nuclear Power plantGujarat
Kaiga Nuclear Power plantKarnataka
Kundankullam Nuclear Power plantTamil Nadu
Kalpakkam Nuclear Power plantTamil Nadu
Tarapur Nuclear Power plant Maharashtra

List of under-construction Nuclear power plants:

Name of PlantState
Rajasthan Unit 7 and 8Rajasthan
Kakrapar Unit 3 and 4Gujarat
Madras (Kalpakkam)Tamil Nadu
KundankullamTamil Nadu

List of planned Nuclear power plants:

Name of PlantState
Jaitapur Nuclear Power plantMaharashtra
Gorakhpur Nuclear Power plantHaryana
Madras Nuclear Power plantTamil Nadu
Kovvada Nuclear Power plantAndhra Pradesh
Mithi Virdi (Viradi) Nuclear Power plantAndhra Pradesh
Haripur Nuclear Power plantAndhra Pradesh
Bhimpur Nuclear Power plantMadhya Pradesh
Mahi Banswara Nuclear Power plantRajasthan
Chutka Nuclear Power plantMadhya Pradesh