National Highways in India

The National highways in India are a network of trunk roads that is owned by the Ministry of Road Transport and Highways.

It is constructed and managed by the National Highway Authority of India (NHAI), the National Highways and Infrastructure Development Corporation (NHIDCL), and the public works departments (PWD) of state governments.

The National Highways Authority of India (NHAI) is the nodal agency responsible for building, upgrading, and maintaining most of the National Highways network.

It operates under the Ministry of Road Transport and Highways. The National Highways Development Project (NHDP) is a major effort to expand and upgrade the network of highways.

NHAI often uses a public–private partnership model for highway development, maintenance, and toll-collection.

In India, National Highways are at-grade roads, whereas Expressways are controlled-access highways where entrance and exit is controlled by the use of ramps that are incorporated into the design of the expressway.

India has a huge network of national highways.

The national highways have a total length of 70,548 kms.

There are 228 highways in india at present.

  • NH 44 covers the North-South Corridor of NHDP and it is officially listed as running over 3,745 km (2,327 mi) from Srinagar to Kanyakumari.
  • It is the longest national highway in India.
  • The Grand Trunk Road, a national highway, is one of the oldest road routes in India.
  • It runs through Haora to Pakistan and is the main route connecting the city with northern India.
  • National Highway 47A, which starts from NH 47 at Kundannur, is the shortest highway in India.
  • It has a length of 6 Kilometeres in total.
  • It links the man-made isle of Willingdon Island with Kochi bye-pass.


List of important NH in India:

1. NH -1Delhi to Amritsar (via Ambala and Jalandhar)
2. NH-1A Jalandhar to Uri (via Madhavpur, Jammu, Srinagar and Baramula)
3. NH-2Delhi to Kolkata (via Mathura and Varanasi)
4. NH-3Agra to Mumbai (via Gwalior, Indore and Nasik)
5. NH-4Thane (Mumbai) to Chennai (via Pune, Belgaun, Hubli, Bangaloru and Ranipet )
6. NH- 5Behragoda (Near Kolkata) to Chennai (via Cuttack, Visakhapatanam and Vijaywada)
7. NH-6Hazira to Kolkata (via Nagpur, Raipur and Sambalpur, Dhule)
8. NH-7Varanasi to Kanyakumari (via Nagpur, Bangalloru and Madhurai)
9. NH-8Delhi to Mumbai (Jaipur, Ahmadabad and Vadodara)
10. NH-9Pune to Machilipatnam (via Sholapur and Hyderabad, Vijaywada)
11. NH-10Delhi to Fazika proceeding to Indo-Pak border
12. NH-14Beawar to Radhanpur (Sirohi)
13. NH-15Pathankot to Kandla (Near Thar Desert)
14. NH-24Delhi to Lucknow
15. NH-39Numaligarh to Indo-Myanmar Border