List of Space Centres in India

Space Centres is an organisation where we collect all information about space-related activity. Space Centres may concern for these activities are:

  • Launch of Space Vehicles like rocket ships, robotics spacecraft, etc.
  • Research on Space-related activities.
  • Manufacturing of Space Vehicles.
  • In orbit control of Space Vehicles.
  • Science Museum for Public Education.
  • Government programs of the Space Agency.

Space Centres may be Public or Private Organisation. Space Centres are managed by the Department of Science. The First Space Research Centre was organised in 1962 by Dr. Vikram Sarabhai which is known as Indian National Committee for Space Research (INCOSPAR). The INCOSPAR was announced as ISRO in 1969. One in every of the Space centres of the Government of India is known as ISRO. It stands for Indian Space Research Organisation. The Administrator of ISRO is K. Sivan, Secretary(Space). The First Satellite of India was developed by ISRO which is known as “ARYABHATA”. There are 17,222 employees working in ISRO. The Space Centre aims to provide all information about the Galaxy. The Very First “Military Rocket” was used by Tipu Sultan during the Mysore war against the British in 1804. The potential Technology was recognised by the Indian Scientist and Politicians for Fighting and Research & Development. ISRO and DRDO had done research for developing Cost-reduction technologies for access to space. The Department of Science of Government of India manages all Space Centers throughout India. Indian Space Centres had launched 11 satellites within 2008. The following list of Space Centres who under the Department of science are:

  • Antrix Corporation (Marketing arm of ISRO),
  • Physical Research Laboratory, Ahmedabad
  • National Atmospheric Research Laboratory, Gadanki, Andhra Pradesh
  • New Space India Limited, Bangalore
  • North-Eastern Space Applications Centre (NE-SAC), Umiam
  • Semi-Conductors Laboratory, Mohali

List of Space Centres :

The following list of Space Centres which allocated in India are:

LocationSpace Centre
New Delhi, India●     DOS branch Secretariat,
●     ISRO branch office,
●     Delhi Earth Station
Dehradun, Uttarakhand●     Indian Institute of Remote sensing
●     Northern RRSC-regional Remote Sensing Centre
Hyderabad, TelanganaNRSA or NRSC- national remote sensing agency centre
Lucknow, UPISTRAC Ground Station
Kharagpur, West BengalEastern RRSC- Regional RemoteSensing Centre
Shillong, MeghalayaNorth eastern space Application Centre
Tirupati, Andhra PradeshNMRF-National Atmospheric Research Laboratory
Sriharikota, Andhra PradeshSatish Dhawan Space Centre
Port BlairDown Range Station
KeralaAmmonium perchlorate experimental plant
Mumbai, MaharashtraISRO Liaison Office
Thiruvananthapuram, KeralaVikram Sarabhai Space Centre
Liquid Propulsion System Centre
ISRO Interial System Unit
Hassan,INSAT master control facility
Bangalore, KarnatakaSpace Commision
INSAT Programme Office
NNRMS Secretariat
ANTRIX Corporation
ISTRAC-ISRO (telemetry Tracking and Command Network)
Nagpur, MaharashtraCentral RRSC (Regional Remote Sensing Centre)
Mount AbuInfrared Observatory
Ahmedabad, GujaratSpace Application Centre
Physical Research Laboratory
Development & Educational communication Unit
Udaipur, RajasthanSolar Observatory
Jodhpur, RajasthanWestern RRSC (Regional Remote Sensing Centre)

Other Countries are also established Space Centres in their respective country like America was established Space Centre which is known as NASA. Space Centres are developing and designing satellite, spacecraft to recognise earth for developing India. DOS funding to all the Space Centres throughout India. All Space Centres report to the Prime Minister of India.

There are many institutes available in India who give the trainee science students for research centres. Also many sites provide some tutorials and pdf for learning.  And there are also many space centres who are working on paramount projects. Every aspirant who wants to develop their career in a Research Centre should be aware about science subjects and Competitive exams. Space Centres launching the space vehicle to access the space.