Elephant Reserves In India

 Elephant  is the largest terrestrial mammal of India .

Elephant being wide ranging animal requires large areas.

The requirement of food and water for elephants are very high and therefore their population can be supported only by forests that are under optimal conditions.

The status of elephant can be the best indicator of the status of the forests.

The Elephant Sanctuary in Tennessee exists to provide captive elephants with individualized care, the companionship of a herd, and the opportunity to live out their lives in a safe haven dedicated to their well-being, and to raise public awareness of the complex needs of elephants in captivity, and the crisis facing elephants in the wild.

Karnataka has the highest number of elephants (6,049), followed by Assam (5,719) and Kerala (3,054).

Bandipur National Park of Karnataka along with Nilgiri Biosphere Reserve is the largest protected area in southern India and largest habitat of wild elephants in India.

There are 30 notified Elephant Reserves (ERs) in the country spread over 15 states.

Asian elephants were believed to be widely distributed – from Tigris – Euphrates in West Asia eastward through Persia into the Indian sub-continent, South and Southeast Asia including Sri Lanka, Java, Sumatra, Borneo and up to North China.

However currently they are confined to Indian Subcontinent, South East Asia and some Asian Islands – Sri Lanka, Indonesia and Malaysia.

About 60% of the Asian elephant population is in India.

Old literatures indicate that even during the Moghul period, elephants were found all over India including many part of Central India like Marwar, Chanderi, Satwas, Bijagarh and Panna.

However current distribution of wild elephant in India is confined to

  • South India
  • North East including North West Bengal
  • Central Indian states of Odisha
  • South WB and Jharkhand
  • and North West India in Uttarakahnd and UP.


List of Elephant Reserves in India:

1. MayurjharnaWest Bengal
2. SinghbhumJharkhand
3. MayurbhanjOdisha
4. MahanadiOdisha
5. SambalpurOdisha
6. Badalkhol-TamorpinglaChattisgarh
7. KamengArunachal Pradesh
8. SonitpurAssam
9. Dihing-PatkaiAssam
10. South ArunachalArunachal Pradesh
11. Kaziranga-Karbi AnglongAssam
12. Dhansiri-LungdingAssam
13. IntankiNagaland
14. Chirang-RipuAssam
15. Eastern DooarsWest Bengal
16. Garo HillsMeghalaya
17. DandeliKarnataka
18. MysoreKarnataka
19. WayanadKerala
20. NilgiriTamil Nadu
21. RayalaAndhra Pradesh
22. NilamburKerala
23. ComibatoreTamil Nadu
24. AnamalaiTamil Nadu
25. AnamudiKerala
26. PeriyarKerala
27. SrivilliputhurTamil Nadu
28. ShivalikUttarakhand
29. Uttar PradeshUttar Pradesh
30. SingphanNagaland