Date of Formation of Indian States

India is federal union comprising 28 states and 8 union territories, at present. India has been divided into 565 princely states before independence. During this point India was divided into three categories of states:

  • Territories of British India
  • Princely states
  • Colonial territories of France & Portugal

After independence, 562 princely states had nodded to hitch the Indian Confederation except Hyderabad, Junagadh, Bhopal and Kashmir.

As country got independent, the state boundaries kept changing year by year.

The dates of formation of states / union territories along with some details are given below:


  1. Andhra Pradesh The state was formed on 01 November 1956, and its capital is Amaravati.
  2. Arunachal Pradesh It was first initialised as Union Territory in 1972 and later it became an independent state with capital Itanagar on 20 February 1987.
  3. Assam – It was a British protectorate in 1826; later in 1874, the state got separated from Bengal. It was recognised as complete state on 26 January 1950. The capital of state is Dispur.
  4. Bihar – The state was first formed by Englishmen in 22 March 1912. It was separated from Jharkhand in 2000 and recognised as a state in 26 January 1950. Its capital is Patna.
  5. Chattisgarh – This was separated from Madhya Pradesh on 01 November 2000 with the capital Raipur.
  6. Goa – The state was ruled by Portugal even after independence but our Indian Army liberated it on 1961 and designated it as Union Territory together with Daman and Diu. It got designation of state on 30 May 1987 & Panaji became its capital. It is smallest state in India.
  7. Gujarat – Initially, it was a part of Bombay Presidency during the time of British rule. It became an independent state on 1 May 1960 & Gandhi Nagar was recognised as its capital.
  8. Haryana – It got separated from Punjab on 01 November 1966. Chandigarh is known as the capital of the state along with Punjab.
  9. Himachal Pradesh – In 1956, it was a Union Territory but later on 25 January 1971 it got a title of state, and Shimla was designated as its capital.
  10. Jharkhand – This state got separated from Bihar on 15 November 2000, and its capital is Ranchi.
  11. Karnataka – Initially recognised as Mysore state on 1 November 1956, renamed as Karnataka on 1973, Bengaluru is known as its capital.
  12. Kerala – The former states of Travancore, Cochin, and Malabar come together to form Kerala in 1956. It was designated as state on 1 November 1956, its capital is Thiruvananthapuram.
  13. Madhya Pradesh – It is recognised on 1 November 1956 and further got separated from Chattisgarh on 2000, Bhopal is named as its capital.
  14. Maharashtra – It was the part of Bombay Province, separated on 1 May 1960 and capital is Mumbai.
  15. Manipur – Initially it was Union Territory in 1956, later it got statehood on 21 January 1972 and Imphal became its capital.
  16. Meghalaya – Its capital is Shillong and got recognisation of state on 21 January 1972.
  17. Mizoram – In beginning, it was a part of Assam as a district. In 1972, it was announced as Union Territory and got statehood on 20 February 1987.
  18. Nagaland – It got split from Assam on 01 December 1963 and Kohima is known as the capital of the state.
  19. Odisha – It was declared as separate province on 1 April 1936 under British rule, and became statehood on 26 January 1950, with Bhubaneshwar as its capital.
  20. Punjab – It was formed with the merger of Patiala state together with 8 other states; separated from Haryana on 01 November 1966 and Chandigarh became its capital.
  21. Rajasthan – It recognised as state on 26 January 1950, Jaipur is known as the capital of the state. It is largest state in India.
  22. Sikkim – It is also called as “Organic State of India”. It came together with Indian Union on 16 May 1975. The capital of the state is Gangtok.
  23. Tamil Nadu – Once it was a part of Madras presidency, and became a state on 26 January 1950 with Chennai as its capital.
  24. Telangana – It was a part of Assam, it got separated from Assam and attain title of state on 2 June 2014. Hyderabad is its capital together with Andhra Pradesh.
  25. Tripura – It is surrounded by Bangladesh, received the title of state on 21 January 1972, before that it was a Union Territory. Agartala is the capital of state.
  26. Uttarakhand – It was first named as Uttaranchal, formed using some districts of Uttar Pradesh on 09 November 2000, renamed as Uttarakhand in 2007. Dehradun is the capital of the state.
  27. Uttar Pradesh – It is known as “Land of Powerful Empire”. The state was formed on the date 26 January 1950 and Lucknow became its capital.
  28. West Bengal – It was formed on 01 November 1956, and Kolkata is its capital.


  1. Andaman & Nicobar Islands – It was the first Union Territory after independence, declared on 01 November 1956 and the capital is Port Blair.
  2. Chandigarh – It is the capital of two states, Haryana & Chandigarh. It got recognised as Union Territory on 01 November 1966.
  3. Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu – Initially, they were two separate Union Territories namely, Dadra & Nagar Haveli and other Daman & Diu. They came together and become a single Union Territory on 26th January 2020. Capital of the Union Territory is Silvassa.
  4. Jammu & Kashmir – Initially, place was the state under Article 370 of Constitution, as per recognition of 26 October 1947. But on 31st October 2019, it is announced as a Union Territory. Its capital is Srinagar (Summer- May to October) and Jammu (winter – November to April).
  5. Ladakh – It is announced as Union Territory on 31st October 2019, after getting separated from Jammu & Kashmir. Its capital is Leh & Kargil.
  6. Lakshadweep – It is the smallest Union Territory, declared on 01 November 1956, and the capital is Kavaratti.
  7. Puducherry (Pondicherry) – It is announced as Union Territory on 01 November 1954.
  8. National Capital Territory of Delhi – During 18th & 19th century, it was established by Britishers. After splitting from Kolkata, in 1911 it became centre of all activities. It got recognised as Union Territory on 01 November 1956.