Chief Ministers in the India

The Republic of India is a “Union of States”. In India, a chief minister is the head of government of each of state. Each state in India is governed by a chief minister who has been voted into power. Union territories, on the other hand, have a governor at the helm with the exception of Delhi, Puducherry and Jammu & Kashmir, who also have serving chief ministers. India has 28 States and 8 Union Territories. There are 31 Chief Ministers in India, 28 from States and 3 from Union Territories (Delhi, Puducherry, and Jammu & Kashmir). Article 164 of the Constitution says that the Chief Minister shall be appointed by the governor. However, this does not mean that the governor is free to appoint anyone as the Chief Minister.

Chief Minister is the ‘elected’ head of the government of a state and the executive authority lies with them. As per the constitution, A Governor is the head of the state; however, Chief Minister is the ‘de facto’ head of that particular state. There are 30 chief ministers in India. Chief Minister is responsible to rule and regulate the functions of a particular state and conveying all policies and decisions of the state to the people. The Chief Minister oversees the everyday functioning of the state government.

The party with the majority of seats after the elections of the state legislative assembly are invited by the Governor to form the Government and then the CM is appointed and sworn in by the Governor. According to the Indian Constitution, the CM is assisted by the council of ministers, consisting of cabinet ministers, deputy ministers, and others.There are no restrictions on the number of times an official can be re-elected. As such, Odisha’s Naveen Patnaik has been in office since March 2000 serving as chief minister for over 20 years. The minimum age for becoming the Chief Minister is 25 years.


How is the Chief Minister Elected?

Every state in India undergoes elections to elect the government of the state every 5 years. Following the elections of the state legislative assembly, commonly known as Vidhan Sabha, the governor invites the party securing majority seats in the election to form a government. A party can form government in the state only after satisfying the majority number criteria. Also according to the Westminster System if no party has secured the majority mark, a coalition of various parties can form a government in the state. Then the governor appoints the Chief Minister for the state.


Power and Authority of Chief Minister

The powers and authority of the Chief Minister is similar to that of the Prime Minister of India, within the restricted boundaries of jurisdiction of a state. A few are mentioned below:

  1. The CM holds the power to form his own council of ministers, choosing members of his party for particular ministries. The members of the core council of ministers also called the Cabinet are decided by the Chief Minister. The various departments are allotted to various ministers by the CM. Also, ministers may be removed from their portfolios if the CM is not satisfied by their performance.
  2. The CM works as a link between the Governor and the Cabinet. The working of the various wings of the government is required to communicate to the Governor. Similarly, the advice and suggestions of the Governor are communicated to the Cabinet by the CM.
  3. The Chief Minister is the chief spokesperson of the government of a state. The CM communicates all policies and decisions to the people of the state through Media. The CM holds regular or periodic press conferences wherein he/she makes the citizens of a state aware of the functioning of the government.
  4. All major decisions in the state are taken by the CM with the support of the council of ministers.


Salary of Chief Minister

The salary of Chief Minister of a state is same as that of the Prime Minister of India, accompanied by a number of allowances, besides the basic pay, such as constituency allowances, sumptuary allowances (tax-free) and daily allowances. The chief ministers are also entitled to receive a pension after the expiry of their term. In the case of death of the Chief Minister, his or her spouse is entitled to pension too. The salary of the CM varies from one state to another as it is decided by the respective state legislatures in the country, as per Article 164 of the Indian Constitution.

Currently, the Chief Minister of Telangana receives the highest salary. He gets Rs. 4, 10,000 as a salary per month. The State of Telangana, Delhi and Uttar Pradesh are paying more salary to Chief Ministers than the salary of State Governor.


Facilities availed by the Chief Minister

The facilities given to the Chief Minister of a state includes medical facilities, residential facilities, reimbursement of electricity and phone charges, traveling facilities and many more. The amount allotted for each of these facilities to the Chief Minister varies from one state to another, as these are specifically detailed in the respective state legislatures of the country.


List of Chief Ministers in the India

StateChief Minister
Andhra PradeshShri YS Jagan Mohan Reddy
Arunachal PradeshShri Pema Khandu
AssamShri Sarbananda Sonowal
BiharShri Nitish Kumar
ChhattisgarhShri Bhupesh Baghel
Delhi (NCT)Shri Arvind Kejriwal
GoaShri Pramod Sawant
GujaratShri Vijaybhai R. Rupani
HaryanaShri Manohar Lal
Himachal PradeshShri Jairam Thakur
JharkhandShri Hemant Soren
KarnatakaSri B. S. Yediyurappa
KeralaShri Pinarayi Vijayan
Madhya PradeshShri Shivraj Singh Chouhan
MaharashtraShri Uddhav Thackeray
ManipurShri N. Biren Singh
MeghalayaShri Conrad Kongkal Sangma
MizoramShri Pu Zoramthanga
NagalandShri Neiphiu Rio
OdishaShri Naveen Patnaik
Puducherry (UT)Shri. V. Narayanasamy
PunjabShri Capt. Amarinder Singh
RajasthanShri Ashok Gehlot
SikkimShri PS Golay
Tamil NaduThiru Edappadi K. Palaniswami
TelanganaShri K Chandrasekhar Rao
TripuraShri Biplab Kumar Deb
Uttar PradeshShri Yogi Aditya Nath
UttarakhandShri Trivendra Singh Rawat
West BengalKm. Mamata Banerjee