Cabinet Minister of Assam 2020

The Cabinet is a frame of top ranking state officials, which typically contains the top leader of our India. The top leaders of the Cabinet are usually known as Cabinet Ministers(Secretaries). Each State has their own Cabinet Ministers. The Cabinet Ministers are appointed by the President of India. The Cabinet Ministers work under the Prime Minister and take major decisions of their ministry. The role of the Cabinet Ministers are:

  • Directing government policy,
  • Making decision on the national issues,
  • Find the solution for the national problems,
  • Presenting bills from their government,
  • Cabinet meeting organised on serious discussion of our nation such as security of country, about economy of country, and improving national affairs, etc.
  • Cabinet ministers have the power to make a law.
  • Cabinet minister preparing the annual budgets, and proposing taxes, etc.

Cabinet Ministers as the head of the following department of the Government are: Agriculture, Defence, Education, Commerce, Energy, Interior, Labor and Justice. These ministers are hired for five years. There is some criteria to selected the candidates for Cabinet such as:

  • He/She must be a citizen of India.
  • He/She should not be less than 35 years.
  • Eligible for election as a member of Rajya Sabha.
  • He is also eligible for re-election.

According to Article 75 (3), the Council of Ministers is collectively responsible for the lower house of Parliament of India, called the Lok Sabha (Lok Sabha). If a bill is not passed which is introduced by a minister in a Lok Sabha, then the entire Council of Ministers is responsible, not that Minister. After the Lok Sabha loses confidence, the Council of Ministers resigns to form a new government.

Pursuant to Article 78 (c) no Minister shall make a decision without consideration by the Council of Ministers. According to Article 352, all members of the Central Cabinet must submit to the President in writing a declaration of urgency by the President.

According to the Constitution of India, the total number of Ministers in the Council of Ministers should not exceed 15% of the number of members of the Lok Sabha. Ministers must be members of Parliament. Any Minister who is not a member of any House of Parliament for six consecutive months shall be automatically removed from office.

About Assam:

Assam is a northeastern India. Assam is famous for its tea and Assam silk. The state is the first place for oil drilling in Asia. Assam has a horned Indian rhinoceros, various species of wild buffalo, peggy hog, tiger and Asian birds and is one of the last wild habitats for the Asian elephant. Wildlife tourism to the World Heritage Sites of Kaziranga National Park and Manas National Park support the Assamese economy. Dibru-Saikova National Park is famous for its wild horses. Sal forests are found in the state and appear green throughout the year as a result of abundant rainfall. Assam receives more rainfall than most parts of India; This rain feeds the Brahmaputra River, its tributaries and oxen lakes provide the aquatic environment of the region.

The Chief Minister of Assam is Shri Sarbananda Sonowala. The Assam Ministry consists of 18 members including Chief minister. And, Also 12 members from the Bharatiya Janata Party and 3 members from the alliance partner. Let’s have a look at the List of Cabinet Ministers of Assam (2019-2024) are given below.

List of Cabinet Minister of Assam:

Minister NameDepartment
Shri Himanta Biswas SarmaFinance, Transformation & Development, Health & Family Welfare, PWD, Education.
Shri Atul BoraAgriculture, Horticulture and Food Processing, Animal Husbandry & Veterinary, Town & Country Planning
Smt. Pramila Rani BrahmaSocial Welfare, Soil Conservation
Shri Keshab MahantaWater Resources, Science & Technology, Information Technology, Culture Affairs (only Library and Archeology)
Shri Parimal SuklabaidyaFishery, Excise, Environment & Forest
Shri Ranjit DuttaHandloom, Textiles & Sericulture (Including Khadi and Village Industry), Welfare of Minorities
Shri Chandra Mohan PatowaryCommerce and Industry, Transport, Parliamentary affairs, Act East Policy Affairs, Skill, Employment & Entrepreneurship Development
Shri Siddhartha BhattacharyaGuwahati Development, Law & Justices
Shri Sum RonghangHill Areas Development, Mines and Minerals
Sri Phani Bhusan choudharyFood, Civil Supplies and Consumer Affairs, Pension & Public Grievances
Sri Chandan BrahmaTourism, Welfare of Plain Tribes and Backward Classes
Sri Rihon DaimaryPublic Health Engineering, Co-operation

Minister of State(Independent Charge)

Sri Sanjoy Kishan●      Tea Tribe Welfare
●      Labour Welfare
Sri Jogen Mohan●      PWD
●      Revenue & Disaster Management
Sri Pijush Hazarika●      Health & Family Welfare
●      Urban Development excluding Town & Country Planning
Sri Bhabesh Kalita●      Irrigation
●      Education
Sri Naba kumar Doley●      Panchayat & Rural Development
●      Cultural Affairs excluding Library and
●      Archeology matters
●      Environment & Forest